Ministers of First and Second Charge - SMC228

This is a list of Ministers of St Magnus Cathedral from 1672-1921. It lists both first and second charge ministers and ends when the charges were combined. The list has been taken from "St Magnus Cathedral: 850 years - A Celebration".

St Magnus Cathedral had two ministers, one was known as the First Charge, and the other the Second Charge. Occasionally the second charge minister would be promoted to the first charge when it became vacant.

There was a three year gap between Reverends J Wilson and T Baikie. This was due to the fact that Reverend Wilson refused to submit to Presbyterianism and was deposed in 1694 and was only replaced in 1697 by Thomas Baikie.

Welcome | Contact Us | Links