Scottish Bishops - SMC227

This is a list of Bishops of Orkney from the take-over of Orkney by Scotland in 1471 until the Glorious Revolution of 1688 when James VII was deposed and William and Mary ruled.

There were thirteen bishops during this period. Some of the more notable bishops on the list are Bishop Reid, who rebuilt the Bishop's Palace in Kirkwall, and Bishop Bothwell, who was Bishop at the time of the Reformation and was one of only four bishops to accept it.

Bishop Bruce was the last Bishop of Orkney. He was appointed to the see in 1688 and died in 1699, never having set foot in Orkney.

Welcome | Contact Us | Links