Norse Bishops - SMC226

This is a list of Bishops of Orkney while Orkney was under the rule of the Norwegian Crown.

There were fourteen bishops during this period. The list begins with Bishop William I, "The Old", who was Bishop during the martyrdom of St Magnus and the founding of St Magnus Cathedral. The list ends with William VI who was bishop when Orkney became Scottish.

The list was reproduced from "St Magnus Cathedral: an Octocentenary Souvenir" published by David Spence in 1937. The booklet was produced to commemorate the 800th anniversary of the Cathedral and a copy is in the "Orkney Room" of Orkney Library.

Welcome | Contact Us | Links